sleepmakeswaves – Tundra (New Music)

sleepmakeswaves are a Sydney based post-rock band, including Alex Wilson (bass guitar, keyboards, piano), Otto Wicks-Green (guitars), Tim Adderley (drums), Daniel Oreskovic (guitars).

Listening to “Tundra” by sleepmakeswaves yesterday had an unexpected reaction: tears. I was moved emotionally by this track, without obvious cause. Then came the challenge of being able to then put the song and sleepmakeswaves’ music into words.

We’ll try by describing how it feels:

“Tundra” starts out feeling like day to day life; with things to do, hustle and bustle, stress, work, people crossing paths and getting places.

And then there is a spark, of something different, that breaks all of those must-dos into something with enticing potential. It is grounding, pulling down into hard work and effort, yet is exciting and rewarding at the same time.

It rolls onward and feels ever more challenging that the hard work will never end.. before expanding into finally getting to live the fruits of this. And it goes beyond that. It’s a feeling of home, inner settling down, and intense peace and stillness, with joy dancing at the heart. “Tundra” is a perfect name for this.

All of this is ‘said’ with instruments. Skilled rock as well as precision electronic effects.

sleepmakeswaves’ third album “Made of Breath only”, recorded with Nick Didia (Rage Against The Machine, Karnivool) will be released Friday March 24th through Bird’s Robe Records and is currently available for preorder here.

The band also have a WHOLE LOT of tour dates lined up for Australia, New Zealand and China:

sleepmakeswaves Australian tour w/ Underoath (USA)
Fri Feb 10 – Eatons Hill, Brisbane QLD Lic. All Ages
Sat Feb 11 – Enmore Theatre, Sydney NSW Lic. All Ages
Sun Feb 12 – 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC – SOLD OUT
Mon Feb 13 – 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC
Wed Feb 15 – The Gov, Adelaide SA Lic. All Ages
Thu Feb 16 – Metropolis, Fremantle WA

sleepmakeswaves China headline tour
Thu March 9 – Mao Livehouse, Hangzhou CHINA
Fri March 10 – Mao Livehouse, Shanghai CHINA
Sat March 11 – Yugong Yishan, Beijing CHINA
Sun March 12 – Ola Space, Nanjing CHINA
Tue March 14 – Nuts, Chongqing CHINA
Wed March 15 – Little Bar Space, Chengdu CHINA
Thu March 16 – Vox, Wuhan CHINA
Fri March 17 – Fei Livehouse, Guangzhou CHINA
Sat March 18 – B10, Shenzhen CHINA
Sun March 19 – Hidden Agenda, Hong Kong CHINA

sleepmakeswaves Australian headline tour
Presented By TheMusic.com.au
Fri March 24 – Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW
Sat March 25 – Max Watt’s, Melbourne VIC
Thu March 30 – ANU Bar, Canberra ACT
Fri March 31 – Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle
Thu April 6 – The Gov, Adelaide SA
Fri April 7 – Badlands, Perth WA
Sat April 8 – Max Watt’s, Brisbane

sleepmakeswaves Australia & New Zealand tour w/ Devin Townsend Project (CAN/USA)
Thu May 18 – Powerstation, Auckland NZ
Sat May 20 – The Triffid, Brisbane QLD
Mon May 22 – Enmore Theatre, Sydney NSW
Wed May 24 – 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC
Fri May 26 – Capitol, Perth WA

Tickets for all shows from www.sleepmakeswaves.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s